You can cancel and correct invoice payments if Enable payment cancellations is selected in Clinic Location Finance Settings and you have the Cancel payments user permission. For more information, see Overview of Invoicing and Payments.
Payments can be canceled or corrected on the invoice page by selecting the Edit payments button or the trash can button.
Alternatively, you can also cancel or correct payments using the credit note option for canceling and correcting payments.
Cancel or Correct a Payment Using the Edit Payments Button
To cancel or correct a payment on an invoice page, select the Edit payments button under Payments.
In the Edit payments dialog, you can cancel or edit the invoice payments:
To cancel a payment, select Cancel in the Action column. You can change the date if required and add information about the action. This information will be shown on the invoice row that shows the canceled payment.
To correct a payment, select Change in the Action column. You can edit the sum, select a new payment method and add information about the action. This information will be shown on the invoice row that shows the changed payment.
For those payments that do not need to be canceled or changed, select No action.
Select Continue. The canceled or changed payment is added on the invoice page under Payments where the whole history of payments is shown for accounting purposes (the change history is not included on the invoice printout).
Cancel or Correct a Payment Using the Trash Can Button
To cancel a payment on an invoice page, select the trash can button on the payment row. If your clinic uses the prepayments function and you have the required rights, you can also transfer the refund to client prepayments using the arrows button.
In the Cancel payment or Transfer payment to prepayments dialog, select the Cancel payment / Confirm transferring to prepayments checkbox and add information about the action. This information will be shown on the invoice row that shows the canceled payment.
Select the date for the cancellation or transfer. By default, the original invoice date is selected.
Select Save. The payment is added on the invoice page under Payments where the whole history of payments is shown for accounting purposes (the change history is not included on the invoice printout).
After canceling a payment, you can add a new payment with the correct information if needed.
